7 Comments

1. I like that your posts are daily, and that they're brief but pack a real punch - I find I always learn something to help me on my way to being organised and productive from a creative point of view.

2. I enjoy reading about how you tackle your work projects, and your art process is something I'd love to see more of.

3. I'm Rebecca, from south-east UK. I'm a keen solo hiker, I hugely enjoy writing, I've always enjoyed dabbling in art and I'm really keen to get my non-fiction book project off the ground. I enjoy writing weekly posts on Substack, often about my frustrating propensity for getting lost. https://rebeccaholden.substack.com/about

Expand full comment

1. Learning about your process in small bursts is motivating and inspirational

2. More of this: watching you draw

3. I’m Amie, a writer with two studios (desert southwest and a Maine island) and two newsletters (weekly 100-word microbursts; twice-monthly cooking stories & recipes). I draw bad art but attempt to sketch nonetheless; have had a few dozen stories published; believe that everything we do is creative, from making food to running marathons; love to read, am scared at the start a big writing project and find joy in helping others.

Expand full comment

1. Style as a set of rules, The jump from exploration mode to exploitation mode as a creative and one about writing a strategy (that I can't find now..!) were the posts that persuaded me to become a paid subscriber.

2. I'm a children's book illustrator, so that content is the stuff that interests me the most

3. I am Emily, I live in the UK and work as an accountant 4 days a week and do my illustration work fridays, evenings and weekends. I've got two kids, two dogs, a house, husband, mortgage and all the live stuff that goes along with it and I'm trying to balance it all an still have time for my love of illustrating.

Expand full comment

Hey Adam, how you doing?

1. I am fairly new here. I joined because I saw you have a background in tech and changed careers to be an Illustrator. Correct me if I am wrong.

2. I still need to catchup to chime in on the content. I am interested in understand a bit more how this transition happened. (Maybe I just need to read the previous posts).

3. I am Alex Campinho. I am Brazilian. I live in New Zealand for 10 years now. Software Developer working on E-commerce space. I am searching for ways to incorporate mort art in my life. I am focusing in learning how to draw and digital art. My handle on instagram is @kemps_alex .

Expand full comment

Hey Adam and readers,

1. I signed up because I wanted more insight into the creative practice of an illustrator. I’m thoroughly enjoying your content!

2. I love your insights into your illustrating work. Whether it’s ideas about portfolios or workflow etc. I find it all super fascinating. So more behind the scenes for me please!

3. I’m an artist and aspiring author/illustrator. At the moment I fit this around being a stay at home mum to two kiddos. The goal is to do it full time. You can find me on instagram - @bykimdehaan. I’ve got links to my various accounts there :) lovely to meet you all.

Expand full comment

1. I love the daily consistency. Even if I miss a day or so, I know I can go back to the archive and read them. I love hearing about your practice and the things that have worked for you in your career thus far.

2. I would love to see more process videos or pictures

3. I'm Jason a poet and indie comic creator. My main creative practice is publishing daily poetry comics (mostly haiku) in my free/pay if you want newsletter:

https://weirdopoetry.substack.com/

Expand full comment

1. I like the brief post daily. It's a quick read. Sometimes I file it as interesting, other times it gives me a bit of though or inspiration.

2. I like reading about other people's thought process or how they work. I have many unfinished creative projects which I try to push up the mountain simultaneously, often with minimal success.

3. My name is Phil, I am a photojournalist with a weekly newspaper in Morrisburg, Canada. I also freelance, write a frequent column, and try to create often. Sometimes it is a photo, or with written word. Other times it is with my model railroad in the basement.

Expand full comment