25 Comments
author

My wife got ill, so I took care of my toddler for the day. How she does this every day is beyond me! I got in two hours of work during nap time , I tried to work at night but was mostly spaced out in front of the iPad…

Expand full comment

My summer schedule is unpredictable and I've come to terms with that! When my oldest was a toddler (a calm one), I had the assumption I could always plan my days around nap time and intermissions to the park. It was lovely and calm. My second child brought the chaos. Now that my children are growing, their needs have grown too! They argue with each other, nap time is a thing of the past, and I am kept on my toes at all times! Needless to say...summer is wild! I don't pretend I can tame it. I carve small moments through out the day to fit quick bursts of work in like emails, social media, and planning. The real work gets done when I either schedule a full day for myself (kids have a babysitter) or I carve out time after hours and kids are in bed (I'm a night owl). The night game is a gamble though because you don't want to forfeit good sleep. The key for me is to give myself lots of room with deadlines and to have art pieces to work on that have no pressure. So I can jump back and forth. I actually start with the fun stuff first for a little while, just to get the juices flowing and then jump into the more serious to-do list. When school starts, a new schedule will emerge and I try to schedule my work time around my most active times. I'm not a morning person. After coffee, breakfast, school drop off...I use the rest of my morning for clean up, yoga, planning, social media, emails...etc....and in the afternoon my brain kinda opens up and I start getting the itch to get creative. Then I'm off to kid pick up, after school activities, dinner and bed routines. If I still have juice...I work a bit before bed. That's me :)

Expand full comment

1. I sketch/draw/paint for 3-4 hours in the morning.

2. I add Art/videos/products to social media 3x a week

3. I do research/study 4x a week (Examples are Skillshare or Domestika classes, read & study many picture books)

I love that my routine enables me to check off items on my “to do” list and get closer to achieving my goals.

I always take a lunch/coffee break after my morning illustrating, outside if possible☀️

Expand full comment

I am somewhere in between. I want to have a routine, but when I try to go too narrowly focused on one I just get stroppy when things inevitably go awry. I instead try to pay attention to my particular flow and adjust at different times of the day - and of the year.

I can get into a really good flow with non-thinky creative work (e.g. colouring up sketches, adding pattern and other mark-making details) in the evenings, and particularly when everyone else has gone to bed. Composition and sketching I find early mornings, up to about 10–11 am are best. And then afternoon is more for inspiration, research and the like - or just going for a walk.

That's the ideal, anyway, and how I work it when I'm mostly doing a big illustration project. Other times, the less creative work often has to take priority and I'll just get an hour and a bit in the morning and some evening time (or not even that - last two weeks have been working all round the clock on a non-creative project).

So... while I know the loose kind of routine, or flow, that works best for me, I have to be able to accept and adjust when circumstances require.

Oh, and I tend to fit less in during winter months, because it's hunker down and hibernate time and I need more sleep.

Expand full comment

I can't live without a routine!

Like some of you who have already said, Summer is always a bit chaotic since I have my 7 and 9-year-old at home. But I love having them around. Couldn't do differently. They are pretty cool and work on their own project when my husband and I really need to work during the day (they have a little studio space just next to mine.

But here's how we structure our day. I usually wake up at 5.30 every morning so I can get 2 to 3 hours of silence to work on my important stuff. From 9 to 10, it's breakfast time and organizing the day. I usually take my kids out each day until 3 so we can all get some fresh air, be in nature or do sports. I always have time to sketch outside. Before supper and in the evening, I have another 2 to 3 hours to work on my stuff.

This is it for now. I love summer because it also offers me a break. Being able to go outside a lot helps me think about my future goals and how I want to organize my time for the year to come. Everything will change again in September when my kids will start school again. But it will be so fun to start a new routine with a fresh an relaxed brain ;) !

Expand full comment

want to go on some peaceful place and had a coffee with me for relaxing. sometimes play the purity test there https://testofpurity.com

Expand full comment

I have the same structure for every day. I wake up, work out, drink coffee, work, eat breakfast, work again, lunch, work, coffee, work then dinner, and I'm done for the day.

Expand full comment

Oh that’s funny! Yes, a timer makes sense😉

Expand full comment

Thanks so much, Sophie😊

Expand full comment

My summer schedule is very wonky! 5 year old needing entertained, travel to the ocean to escape the heat! So my question is how to schedule around a child who is home and working on the road? :)

Expand full comment